Alive Together: New and Selected Poems

Author(s): Lisel Mueller

Poetry & Plays

In a collection that represents over thirty-five years of her writing life, this distinguished poet explores a wide range of subjects, which include her cultural and family history and reflect her fascination with music and the discoveries offered by language. In fact, her book is a testament to the miraculous power of language to interpret and transform our world. It is a testament that invites readers to share her vision of experiences we all have in common: sorrow, tenderness, desire, the revelations of art, and mortality - "the hard, dry smack of death against the glass." To this community Mueller presents moments after moment where the personal and public realms intersect, where lives ranging from her own to those of Mary Shelley and Anton Webern illuminate the ways in which history shapes our lives. In "Brendel Playing Schubert, " Mueller's breathtaking linguistic virtuosity reminds us how music can transport us out of ourselves and into "the nowhere where the enchanted live"; in "Midwinter Notes, " the crepuscular world, stripped of its veil, shines forth as a signal from some realm where the sense of things may be revealed. In the title piece Mueller brings a sense of enduring and unclouded wonder to a recognition of all those whose lives might have been our own.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Winner of Pulitzer Prize for Poetry 1997.

Lisel Mueller is the author of The Need to Hold Still, winner of the 1981 National Book Award for poetry, and four other volumes of poetry. She lives in Lake County, Illinois.

General Fields

  • : 9780807121283
  • : Louisiana State University Press
  • : Louisiana State University Press
  • : 0.318
  • : October 1996
  • : 229mm X 139mm X 20mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lisel Mueller
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 811.54
  • : 232
  • : black & white illustrations