The Mammoth Book of the Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes

Author(s): Denis O. Smith


These are stories of the sort loved by true fans of the greatest of all detectives, in which a client tells Holmes a strange tale, drawing him into a baffling mystery. Whether in fogbound London or deep in the English countryside, these action-packed stories, set during the 1880s and early 1890s, before Holmes' disappearance at the Reichenbach Falls, faithfully recreate the atmosphere of Conan Doyle's early Holmes stories. This wonderful anthology brings together the best work of Denis O. Smith, much admired for his new Sherlock Holmes stories, including 'A Hair's Breadth', 'The Adventure of the Smiling Face' and 'An Incident in Society'. Ten of these stories have never previously been published in book form.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

From the best living exponent of new Sherlock Holmes stories, 12 explosive new mysteries

Smith not only knows his Canon, he also knows his Holmes and Watson. Almost everything the pair say and do in these stories rings true, even when the author is fleshing out character traits only barely sketched in the original stories. Hearing Holmes explain why a thoughtful and intelligent man like him takes a foolhardy risk in the excitement of the chase ( The Adventure of the Yellow Glove) is a treat. Praise for The Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes, Volume 4 -- Peter Calamai

Denis O. Smith's interests range from logic and the history of London to Victorian society and railways, all of which contribute to giving his stories a true flavor of the period. He lives in the heart of Norfolk, England, from where he makes occasional trips to London to explore some of the capital's more obscure corners.

General Fields

  • : 9781472110596
  • : Constable and Robinson
  • : Constable Crime
  • : December 2013
  • : 197mm X 130mm X 32mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Denis O. Smith
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 512