The One-in-a-Million Boy

Author(s): Monica Wood

General

THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY by Monica Wood is for anyone who loves to laugh, cry, and think about how extraordinary ordinary life can be. Not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL. 'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily Mail The story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don't they teach you anything at school? So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who's been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances. Soon she's confessing secrets she has kept hidden for decades. One Saturday, he doesn't show up. Ona starts to think he's not so special after all, but then his father Quinn arrives on her doorstep, determined to finish his son's good deed. The boy's mother is not so far behind. Ona is set to discover that even at her age the world can surprise you, and that sometimes sharing a loss is the only way to find yourself again.

$19.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Curl up and enjoy this bewitching novel Woman & Home A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations Daily Mail Razor sharp while packing a heart-wrenchingly powerful emotional punch... Beautifully written, cleverly constructed, at times hilariously funny and ultimately deeply affecting - this should be a smash Sunday Mirror Delightful. It's a hugely engaging look at how lives can be remade in the most unexpected of ways Sunday Express A whimsical and bittersweet story about finding friendship in the most unlikely places Good Housekeeping Heartwarming... beautifully sketched characters... life-affirming ***** Stylist This inspirational tale of friendship, world records and following dreams is a stunner Heat Wise, witty and incredibly moving... magical and life-affirming. I was utterly charmed -- Polly Samson A big, warm, winning treat of a novel, wholly believable but touched with magic... Sharply observed, deftly constructed and pithily told -- Alison Mercer A beautifully told story Sun Wood's prose sparkles with lyrical descriptions and sharp observations about people and their motivations... But the over-arching theme running through it all concerns second chances. Even when you're older than a century, life still has the capacity to surprise you Herald Glasgow The boy is one of my favourite literary characters ever! I thought it was a gem of a novel, heartbreaking and heartwarming. Beautifully written, with characters that you want to keep by your side -- Adele Parks A magical, beautifully written story about the healing power of friendship, music, and unexpected, generation-spanning connections. As emotionally resonant as THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME -- Christina Baker Kline A beguiling, heart-wrenching and funny book... Absolutely gorgeous Psychologies It's a pleasure to linger with her elegant prose, keen eye, and grace of thought Reader's Digest

Monica Wood is an award-winning, bestselling novelist and memoirist. Born in Maine, New England, to an Irish Catholic family, she worked as a guidance counsellor and in a nursing home before becoming a full-time writer. She is also a singer, and travelled the New England circuit singing jazz, country, pop and gospel for many years. She lives in Maine with her husband.

General Fields

  • : 9781472228383
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Review
  • : January 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 317
  • : 813.6
  • : 432
  • : Monica Wood