Calling Major Tom

Author(s): David M. Barnett

SALE TABLE

'I adored this book ' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things. A gorgeous, laugh-out-loud story of friendship, family and forgiveness. The perfect book club read for fans of A Man Called Ove, A Boy Made of Blocks and The Rosie Project.

A man who has given up on the world. A family who show him how to live.

Forty-something Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his grumpy exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world... for good.

'An unashamedly feel-good story.' Miranda Dickinson
'Sheer joy.' Lucy Diamond
'A much-needed antidote for these worrying times.' Julie Cohen
'A moving, funny, absorbing hot chocolate of a story.' Daniela Sacerdoti
'Exactly what everyone needs right now.' Rachael Lucas

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT CALLING MAJOR TOM
'A delightfully quirky book '
'Brilliant '
'Wonderful and life affirming'
'Totally unforgettable'

$29.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

CALLING MAJOR TOM is a heart-warming and ultimately life-affirming story, perfect for readers of A MAN CALLED OVE and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY

Praise for the feel-good novel of 2017, Calling Major Tom: A book about loneliness, about bravery, about the walls we all put up to protect ourselves and about how it is never ever too late to try to change. Katie Marsh, author of MY EVERYTHING A gorgeously quirky story about families, forgiveness and unexpected friendships - sheer joy. Lucy Diamond, author of THE SECRETS OF HAPPINESS ...a pure pleasure to read, full of well-observed characters and hope, and a much-needed antidote for these worrying times. Julie Cohen, author of TOGETHER CALLING MAJOR TOM is blooming marvellous! Original, moving and mercilessly funny, this is an unashamedly feel-good story. I laughed, I cried and I cheered for the wonderful characters. Don't hesitate - fall in love with this book! Miranda Dickinson, author of SEARCHING FOR A SILVER LINING Brilliant, funny, heartwarming and exactly what everyone needs right now. I loved it. Rachael Lucas, author of Wildflower Bay A funny, moving, absorbing hot chocolate of a story - hot chocolate with chilli, that is, because there were bits were I laughed aloud! The pages just turned themselves - I can't wait for the next David Barnett. Daniela Sacerdoti, author of CALLING YOU HOME

David Barnett is an author and journalist based in West Yorkshire. After a career working for regional newspapers he embarked upon a freelance career writing features for most of the UK national press. He is the author of the critically-acclaimed Gideon Smith series of Victorian fantasies, published by Tor Books, and teaches journalism part-time at Leeds Trinity University. David was born in Wigan, Lancashire, in 1970 and is married to Claire, also a journalist. They have two children, Charlie and Alice.

General Fields

  • : 9781409170099
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Orion
  • : July 2016
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 217
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 304
  • : David M. Barnett