Open: A Toolkit for How Magic and Messed Up Life Can be

Author(s): Gemma Cairney


Open: A Toolkit for How Magic and Messed Up Life Can Be is full of honest advice about the big, bad and beautiful things that growing up is all about: from mental health to families to first love, and everything in between.

Gemma Cairney is an important advocate for young people and between her life experiences and her personal insight from her time as Radio 1's resident agony aunt on The Surgery, she is perfectly placed to offer hope and a huge comforting cuddle to young people questioning what life's all about or dealing with hard times.

Along with practical help and advice from a range of experts and gorgeous illustrations, this bright and colourful book also has a ribbon marker and plenty of space for readers to personalize and make it their own, making Open a treasured resource to return to whenever advice is needed.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Honest advice about everything from mental health to families to first love from TV and Radio personality and agony aunt Gemma Cairney

After a brief go at drama school and a stint working in fashion in her early twenties, Gemma Cairney is now a BBC broadcaster, magpie, and life enthusiast who has won awards for making documentaries on subjects such as young people in violent relationships. She presents The Surgery Show on BBC Radio 1 and co-produced and presented internet entertainment show, The Fox Problem. Gemma has presented shows and one offs for BBC Radio 1, 1Xtra, 2, 3, 4, 4 Extra, 6Music and BBC World Service. She is also founder of boutique production company - Boom Shakalaka Productions. She likes to write, explore the planet, trek mountains and DJ garage classics.

** Introduction - i: Welcome*

Unit - One: YOUR HEART* Chapter - 1: Family* Chapter - 2: Friendship* Chapter - 3: Love* Chapter - 4: Heartbreak* Chapter - 5: Death, Loss and Grief*

Unit - Two: YOUR MIND* Chapter - 6: Stress, Trauma, Anxiety* Chapter - 7: Depression* Chapter - 8: Eating Disorders* Chapter - 9: Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD)* Chapter - 10: Addiction* Chapter - 11: Self-Harm* Chapter - 12: The A to Z of a Happy Mind*

Unit - Three: YOUR BODY AND SOUL* Chapter - 13: Periods* Chapter - 14: Body Image* Chapter - 15: Exercise* Chapter - 16: Food, Glorious Fooood* Chapter - 17: Sex* Chapter - 18: Sexuality* Chapter - 19: Sexual Health* Chapter - 20: Abortion* Chapter - 21: Consent, Rape and Rape Culture*

Unit - Four: YOUR WORLD AND YOUR FUTURE* Chapter - 22: Politics* Chapter - 23: Our Natural World* Chapter - 24: Language and Words* Chapter - 25: The Internet* Chapter - 26: Volunteering* Chapter - 27: The Scary World* Chapter - 28: Prejudice* Chapter - 29: Feminism* Chapter - 30: Wanderlust and Expression* Chapter - 31: Money, Money, Money* Chapter - 32: Careers**

Section - ii: A Letter to Myself Aged 14*

Acknowledgements - iii: Acknowledgements and Contributors*

Section - iv: Useful Websites* Index - v: Index

General Fields

  • : 9781509836116
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Macmillan Children's Books
  • : December 2016
  • : 234mm X 176mm X 31mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Gemma Cairney
  • : Hardback
  • : Main Market Ed.
  • : en
  • : 158
  • : 320