Origin

Author(s): Stephen Baxter

Science Fiction / Fantasy

Concluding the epic Manifold series that began with TIME and continued with SPACE: Astronaut Reid Malenfant is flying over the African continent, intent on examining a mysterious glowing construct in Earth's orbit. But when the very fabric of the sky tears open, spilling living creatures to the ground and pulling others inside, including Reid's wife, Emma, his quest to uncover the unknown becomes personal. While desperately searching to discover what happened to the woman he loves, Reid embarks upon an adventure to the very fount of human development ...on earth and beyond.

$19.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'Baxter is taking basic sf ideas and rebuilding them based on current science, technology and politics - a tried and true method of sf writers but no less effective for that. Baxter apparently has the ambition and the energy to reinvigorate hard sf all by himself' Locus on SPACE 'Like all good sf, SPACE provokes questions. What kind of species are we?... the other reason SPACE works well is that Baxter is a good writer... his format and style are assured and keep you happily suspended and engrossed. Right up to the satisfyingly vertiginous climax... Malenfant is one of sf's more memorable characters' SFX on SPACE 'Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars' The Times

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Buckinghamshire.

General Fields

  • : 9780008134495
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperVoyager
  • : October 2015
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 496
  • : Stephen Baxter
  • : Paperback