Apricot Jam and Other Stories

Author(s): Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Short Stories

A brilliant collection of stories translated for the first time into English.
First published in Russia in 1994, when Solzhenitsyn returned after years of living in exile, this is a series of nine powerfully paired stories that will secure the author's position as not just a searing political commentator but also as a true literary giant. This collection now joins Solzhenitsyn's already available work as some of the most powerful literature of the twentieth century. With Soviet and post-Soviet life as their focus, these stories illustrate the Russian experience under the Soviet regime.
In 'The New Generation', a professor promotes a dull but proletarian student purely out of goodwill. Years later, the same professor finds himself arrested and, in a striking twist of fate, his student becomes his interrogator.
In 'Nastenka', two young women with the same name lead routine, ordered lives - until the Revolution exacts radical change on them both.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The most eloquent and acclaimed opponent of government oppression in the twentieth century, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1970, and his work continues to receive international acclaim. Through his writings, particularly The Gulag Archipelago and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, he helped to make the world aware of the Gulag, the Soviet Union's forced labour camp system. He was expelled from the Soviet Union in 1974 and returned to Russia in 1994. He died on August 2, 2008.

General Fields

  • : 9781921758881
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : 0.31
  • : September 2011
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : Australia
  • : October 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 891.7344
  • : very good
  • : 352