Ward No. 6 and Other Stories

Author(s): Anton Chekov + Janet Malcolm (Contribution by)

Short Stories

A young man tries to figure out the best way to live. A young woman struggles to assert herself within a regrettable marriage. A doctor attempts to befriend his most interesting patient. This riverrun edition presents a selection of Chekhov's longer stories - novellas, effectively - in Constance Garnett's timeless translations. These four stories, The Wife, The Steppe, Ward No. 6 and My Life, tell of characters attempting to create meaning through work, connection with others and art; they deal with misunderstandings and loss; they celebrate brief joys, sudden passions and unsatisfied longings, all underscored by Chekhov's gentle wit and great humanity. This unique collection - selected and introduced by the celebrated Janet Malcolm - is unmissable for the enthusiast and a brilliant introduction to one of the nineteenth century's greatest writers.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781787475946
  • : Quercus
  • : riverrun
  • : April 2019
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Anton Chekov + Janet Malcolm (Contribution by)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 891.73/3
  • : 352